Honda – The Road to 800 Wins


The Road to 800 Wins Chronology


Find out more – click here


1948: Honda Motor Co., Ltd. established・

1958: Super Cub goes on sale

1959: RC142 debuts in Isle of Man TT 125cc class, taking the Constructor’s Prize. Honda wins its first WGP race in the opening round.


1960: Honda R&D Co., Ltd. established

1961: With eight wins from eleven rounds, Honda wins the Rider’s and Constructor’s titles

1962: Suzuka Circuit construction completed


1966: Activities expanded to all classes with the entry of the RC181 in the 500cc class. Honda becomes the first manufacturer in WGP history to win the Constructor’s title in all five classes.

1982: Honda Racing Corporation established

1984: Honda debuts the NSR500 in the 500cc class, and wins the Constructor’s title.


1985: Honda returns to the 250cc class with the NSR250 (RS250RW). Honda takes the Rider’s and Constructor’s titles, dominating its debut season.


1987: Honda debuts the RS125R in the 125cc class.The racing bike becomes legendary by 2005, amassing 131 wins for many riders in countless races.

1997: Twin Ring Motegi opens

2002: MotoGP class begins

2002: Honda debuts the RC211V in the new premier MotoGP class (formerly 500cc class). With 14 wins from 16 races, Honda wins the constructors championship.

2010: Moto2 class begins

2012: Honda debuts the RC213V in the MotoGP class, winning the constructors championship

2012: Moto3 class begins

2015 Honda reaches 700 WGP race wins.

2019: Honda claims its third consecutive triple crown (constructor, team and rider titles) in the MotoGP class, and its third consecutive rider and constructor titles in Moto3.


2020: 25, October: Honda reaches 800 WGP race wins.